Dexter District Library
New Library

Program Calendar

CalendarView and print the current calendar(s) by clicking here.

Newsletter

Ex Libris NewsletterWant to catch up on the latest news at your library? Click here to view our Ex Libris Newsletter(s).

Search the Catalog

Search this Site

Questions?

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Get it answered here for free!

Databases

We offer Access to two types of Databases here at the Dexter District Library:

  1. Michigan Electronic Library Databases
  2. DDL Complimentary Databases

You must have a valid Dexter District Library card to remotely access these databases. You will be prompted to enter your 13-digit library card number and a PIN number upon accessing each database.

Having problems accessing these databases, click here for our Database Troubleshooting FAQ sheet.

If you do not know your PIN number or you are just having trouble accessing these resources from home or work please contact the Dexter District Library at 734-426-4477 for help.


Online Databases are BETTER THAN THE INTERNET!

Databases contain full-text articles in encyclopedias, almanacs, magazines, newspapers, professional and scientific journals, auto manuals, sample GED and GRE tests, and electronic books. You’ll find valid information on health, business, biography and genealogy, literature, history, current events, art, economics, religion, psychology, science as well as homework help for students, and bibliographic information on books and articles.

Why are Databases better than the Internet?

  • Authoritative, reliable and full-text
  • Free to library card holders
  • Appropriate for children
  • Accessible from home, office or anywhere
  • Available 24 hours a day
  • Subscription-only sources not found on the Internet
  • Free of advertisements

Click here to learn more about what a Database is.